Texas Norml
Latest News

Discount Code: Save 10%

For a limited time, we are offering 10% off all our regularly priced items AND

Read More

#GivingTuesday

#GivingTuesday is a global giving movement that has been built by individuals, families, organizations, businesses

Read More

Shop with Purpose on

As our team continues to educate and empower Texans, we wanted to let you know

Read More

HHSC Executive Council Meets

Today in Austin, the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Executive Council held a meeting

Read More
', nextArrow: '
', responsive: [ { breakpoint: 991, settings: { slidesToShow: _showitemtablet_set } }, { breakpoint: 768, settings: { slidesToShow: _showitemmobile_set } }, { breakpoint: 575, settings: { slidesToShow: 1, } } ] }); })(jQuery);

Texas Cannabis Law Timeline

1915
El Paso Ban

El Paso was the first American city to individually restrict cannabis.

1919
Sale Restricted

In 1919, transfer of cannabis for non-medical use was made a misdemeanor crime. Possession remained legal.

1931
Statewide Prohibition

Possession of cannabis was banned statewide in 1931.

1973
HB 447

In June 1973, House Bill 447 was signed into law. Prior to its passage, possession of any amount of cannabis in Texas was a felony offense punishable with up to life in prison. HB 447 made possession of up to two ounces a class B misdemeanor, punishable by a $1000 fine and prison sentence of no more than 180 days.

2007
HB 2391

In June 2007, House Bill 2391 allowed police to "cite and release" for possession of up to 4 oz. of cannabis. The same harsh penalties still applied, but the offender was not immediately arrested.

2015
SB 339

In June 2015, Senate Bill 339 (the Texas Compassionate Use Act) allowed the use of low-THC (less than 0.5% THC) cannabis oil for treatment of a specific subset of epilepsy patients, if other qualifying conditions were met.

2019
HB 63

In April 2019, the Texas House of Representatives approved House Bill 63, intended to make possession of up to one ounce a Class C (rather than a Class B) misdemeanor. This would have eliminated the threat of jail time and reduced the fine to $500. Lt. Governor Dan Patrick refused to allow Texas Senators a vote on it.

2019
HB 1325

In June 2019, House Bill 1325 legalized the cultivation of industrial hemp containing less than 0.3% THC. It also legalized possession and sale of hemp-derived CBD products without need for a doctor's approval.

2019
HB 3703

In June 2019, House Bill 3703 increased the number of qualifying conditions eligible for treatment under the state's low-THC medical cannabis program by adding terminal cancer, autism, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), seizure disorders, and incurable neurological disorders such as Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, and Huntington's Disease.